How long is the term of office for elected officials?

The four Ward Council members are elected to two-year terms from individual geographic districts. These districts are reviewed approximately every 10 years and changes are made so that each district has approximately the same number of residents. The three At-Large Council members are elected to four-year terms from the entire City.

The Mayor and City Attorney also serve four year terms, and that election also runs citywide. All municipal elections in Ohio are held during odd-numbered years. In 2009, the four ward Council seats were up for election. In 2011 all elected positions in the City are up.

Show All Answers

1. What is the Council's role in City government?
2. Who is elected in Gahanna's government?
3. How long is the term of office for elected officials?
4. How can I get a message to my Council Member?
5. When does the Council meet?
6. What is the difference between a Council meeting and a Committee meeting?
7. How can I find out what items are on the Council agenda?
8. How can I review minutes from Council and Committee meetings?
9. What is my Council district?
10. Can I address the Council members during a Council meeting?